Leftovers 26th April

Phew, this has had to be a very tight week indeed! Coming in to the last week of the month is never any fun budget wise, but an expensive car park charge in Brighton and a couple of rounds of coffee caught us out last week, leaving us with not very much at all for food shopping! Whilst we have been able to top up the joint account from our own, its obviously good practice to run things as tight as possible in situations like this.

So, leftovers for the week were cherry tomatoes, a cucumber, and some chicken thighs. Whenever I see cherry tomatoes and cucumber left together, it instantly takes me to one of our all time favourite dinners – Tomato, Cucumber and Halloumi Salad. This is so gorgeous and light, the flavours of the dressing with herbs and onion work so nicely with the salty tang of the fried halloumi, and is finished off nicely with some toast or ciabatta bread, whichever you prefer.ย http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/18680/pan+fried+haloumi+with+tomato+and+basil+salad+and+toasted+olive+bread

18680_l

Leftover chicken thighs are a little tricker, as most chicken recipes call for chicken breast, and the two don’t cross over very well. Cue BBC Good Food website and its lifesaving search function, bringing me across a delicious chicken, asparagus and new potato roast – very spring time! Even better, I remembered I had a pack of new potatoes tucked away in a dark corner somewhere – yes they have a couple of sprouts, but the majority are still perfect to use. Double Yay!ย http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3084682/rosemary-roast-chicken-thighs-new-potatoes-asparag

recipe-image-legacy-id--1284501_9

Believe it or not though, that’s me out of leftovers! :/

Still, there are ways to be extra savvy with your shopping – there will always be things in your store cupboard which can be used towards the simplest of meals, and there are also recipes with minimal ingredients and no wastage. The best example of this is an easy peasy pesto gnocchi – pesto from the store cupboard, a bag of gnocchi and a red pepper for a little crunch and colour. Love it ๐Ÿ™‚ Secret tip – I pan fry my gnocchi as often as possible, I find it still cooks through giving the nice fluffy texture inside, but just leaves a nice barely-crisp outside that is to die for! Thanks Nigella ๐Ÿ˜‰

img_3192

Last but not least (we’re round parents’ a couple of nights this week to aid the budgeting even further!) is another beautifully simple meal – Chickpea and Chorizo Bowl, with onions and couscous. The flavours in this are incredible, and it is so warm and filling and satisfying – I’m just wondering why I haven’t made it for so long! Again, onions are a fridge staple, as are the dressing ingredients and couscous – so all I need is a can of chickpeas and some chorizo, which will roll over nicely into next week’s leftovers ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll post the recipe for this later in the week for you guys to check out!

chorizo-HERO-f2ba5473-78aa-4155-aa52-ba81a169e184-0-472x310

Lotsa Love! x

4 thoughts on “Leftovers 26th April

  1. Samantha Nagtegaal says:

    Hello ๐Ÿ™‚ I linked to you from deliciously Ella and just had to say I love the idea of your blog, making use of leftovers and actually creating new dishes with them. It’s a really conscious way of planning your meals. I always meal plan and do a shop once a week, but I often forget to check what I have left in the fridge from the previous week. I know I waste too much food, and I always give my boys too much too! I’m totally in agreement about BBCGoodFood; I really owe my love of cooking to that site!
    Best wishes,
    Sam
    Ps. I also (like you) have another blog, for sewing, knitting and other crafts. I just cook so much nowadays that a cooking blog seemed a better thing for me to write about as I don’t actually need to make anything specific that I wouldn’t be making anyway!

    Like

    • vintageabbie says:

      Hi Sam!
      Thank you so much for the lovely words, it’s really great to hear you’re enjoying my blog! I definitely wanted to make something that people would find helpful, and I’ve often been told how savvy my shopping and cooking is! Once you get into the habit of it, it really can be fun to try and track down recipes to suit your leftovers!
      I’ll be sure to check out your blog too, thank you so much for saying hello ๐Ÿ™‚
      Lotsa Love ๐Ÿ™‚
      Abbie x

      Like

  2. Samantha Nagtegaal says:

    Oh cool, thanks Abbie ๐Ÿ™‚ I find the networking part of blogging the hardest, the post writing is the easy bit! This is totally random but I just went to your vintage blog and, skimming through, I saw the photos of your Lindy Bop dress. I’d never heard of them before literally today, but a friend from mine posted a photo on Facebook earlier of her wearing one on an evening out. Coincidence!
    X Sam

    Like

    • vintageabbie says:

      Haha how funny! They really are gorgeous dresses – granted that is the only one I have (at the moment!) but the value for money really is amazing! I completely agree with you on the networking thing – I found it easier in the vintage/pinup communities because I think it’s more to do with the individuals, and there is more of a ‘share-for-share’ mentality, but I think in the food blogging world this is the way to network ๐Ÿ˜‰ Getting chatting with like-minded bloggers! And Instagram, I love Instagram!
      Abbie x

      Like

Leave a Reply

