Leftovers 24th May

Ooh, it’s getting towards the end of the month again and things are running really quite tight! Not counting the fact that over the bank holiday weekend we’ve had more than a few lunches and coffees out… but hey we’re making the most of the last few weeks being mortgage free! Still, it’s important for us to keep the food budget tight – anything else can be supplemented by our own pockets.

Once again, a few meals have rolled over in to this week due that good old ‘life happens’ scenario, and we’ve got a few freezer meals which have helped out loads. As such there wasn’t much more for me to do – though we did acquire two large flat mushrooms which led me to this gorgeous looking mushroom fajita recipe with avocado hummus from BBC Good Food. I love colourful meals, and the greens, reds and browns of this are a pretty good indication to me that this is going to be delicious and healthy. The more colour in your diet, the better!

fajitas_0

That being said, there’s definitely something to be said for a plateful of bright green goodness, particularly this time of year. I fell in love with this Asparagus & Avocado Tabbouleh dish as soon as I saw it in BBC Good Food Magazine, and I am so excited to be giving it a try out this week. I’ve been wanting to cook with quinoa and various other grains for a while, and this seemed like a great opportunity, with a gorgeous zesty dressing and punchy flavour from the asparagus paired with the smooth avocado, and the edamame beans just make it super awesome! πŸ˜€

asparagus-avocado-quinoa-superfood-tabbouleh

Grains & pulses are such a fantastic store cupboard staple for this kind of cooking, as they are easy to keep stocked up on and so versatile for adding to whatever other leftovers you have – quinoa can be made into some protein packed dinners as well as healthy lunches, and pulses are a fantastic alternative to meat in so many different meals. This week I’m cooking an old favourite, Red Lentil Ragu – this is a dish that seriously goes a long long way. I cook the supposedly appropriate ratio of ingredients for the servings suggested, and still end up freezing half – i don’t think I have a pan big enough to cope with the full amount!

recipe-image-legacy-id--563473_12

Well, this is going to be my last Leftovers post for a couple of weeks, as we are going on an adventure! (Extra points to the sci-fi geeks who know what I’m talking about there πŸ˜‰ ) We’re off camping on the Isle of Man for Dave’s 30th Birthday, so I will be totally off the grid, but we will be cooking on a serious budget off a gas stove! So I’m sure I will have some fun experiences to relate when I get back ;p

Wish me luck!

Lotsa Love πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

